18+ Content Warning

By clicking Enter, you confirm you are 18 years of age or older and agree to comply with all applicable local, state, and federal laws.

Notice: Any content or member activity - including anything you may buy, sell, transfer, or discuss - must comply with current and upcoming laws.

Members are encouraged to stay informed: California Firearm Laws: 2026 Outlook & 2025 Recap . Responsibility for compliance rests solely with the individual member.

caguns.net

Welcome to CAguns.net!
Join our growing community where you can ask questions, share knowledge, or browse our classifieds section.

Sign up for a free account today and unlock full access! Once registered, you can search, post, and take advantage of exclusive features unavailable to guests.

A note on why more of the site now requires an account: automated scrapers and AI systems have been crawling our forums and classifieds at a scale. Requiring sign-in for those sections is the most effective tool we have. It takes a minute to register, it's free, and it keeps what happens here between actual members.

New to California gun ownership or trying to keep up with the changing laws? Check out our sister site CA2A.com — free courses, plain-English legal updates, and step-by-step guides built for California owners.

Advanced features are available only to registered members. Register today!

  • 📢 Classifieds Update — Effective Monday, September 21

    Starting Monday, the free Classifieds ad limit will be lowered from 3 to 2 active ads.

    Verified accounts will keep their limit of 3. All other account limits stay the same.

    Existing ads are not affected and will remain up until they expire.

    Want to keep 3 listings and add features like removing comments and emojis? Upgrade/Verify your account

    More information here

Gun Stores charging extra fee for PPT.

Stores that tackle on BS fees usually gets least of my business or money.

Turner's especially, I go there to look or PPTs.

Then comes Rifle Supply that made it policy to charge 47.19 even when buying new guns. So they get my PPT business lol.

Quite a few I just don't make large purchases from unless they are having a sales event.
I go back and forth with RS. For a while they were really good, then they kind of went downhill, then they were good again, and then they went downhill again. The additional CC fee (not sure if they’re still doing that, I haven’t been there in a while) and the 47.19 for new as well as PPT make me avoid them for all but parts. IMO Riflegear is the best in OC, they don’t do BS fees afaik.
 
So just trying to get my information correct. Recently on a couple different PPT's ive done, I have had two different shops charge me fees for providing the service to PPT a firearm. One shop charged me $40 dollars ontop of the $40 dros fee. For a total of $80 for one PPT of a handgun. Another shop charged me $35 dollars plus another $10 dollars for a firearm cable lock due to the one included not being the "original" lock that came with the firearm from the manufacture, plus another $40 for the PPT DROS. This all seems super fishy and honestly kind of BS. Am I in the wrong thinking that adding "PPT" fees ontop of the actual cost of the PPT is not legal?
Name and shame!
 
I guess I slipped through the cracks ...

It happens.
Some federal assault weapon ban passes and then boom, you have kids and before you know it, the kids move out and you find yourself digging into your old hobbies again.
Then you look in a new gun magazine or gun shop and holy hell, everything is different.
Check out fiber optic sights and red dot optics as a solution for your iron sights that all seem to have gotten a little fuzzy around the edges all of a sudden.
 
Hmm, I'm pretty sure I've seen recently that dealer ppt DROS fees, while needing to be recorded alongside the other state DROS fees, cannot exceed $10 per transaction (per individual firearm). This carrying a hefty penalty per infraction of course (~$500 per infraction). The cost of dissuading PPTs simply hurts more in the long run compared to just doing it.
 

Attachments

  • drosandpptfee.png
    drosandpptfee.png
    50 KB · Views: 43
Hmm, I'm pretty sure I've seen recently that dealer ppt DROS fees, while needing to be recorded alongside the other state DROS fees, cannot exceed $10 per transaction (per individual firearm). This carrying a hefty penalty per infraction of course (~$500 per infraction). The cost of dissuading PPTs simply hurts more in the long run compared to just doing it.
Please post the document where the $500 infraction is listed so people can print that out and bring it with them to places that charge extra fees for PPT's.
 
cable lock charge happens. but beyond that shouldn't be more than a $10 charge. that's by law. sucks for the shop for sure, but that's by law. there was a lot of monkey business with PPT fees during covid and immediately post covid, but most shops have reverted around here anyways.

Truth to what you say about the FFL only being able to charge $10 for their time on top of the standard dros fees. I don't know if this is correct but I've heard that they can charge additional fees like op incurred and justify it as a "storage" fee to hold your gun during the 10-day waiting.
 
Please post the document where the $500 infraction is listed so people can print that out and bring it with them to places that charge extra fees for PPT's.

The linked memo does not specify an exact fee, nor does it appear any fines or fees charged are available publicly.

Is there a penalty if the FFL charges more than $10?

Yes, there can be penalties if an FFL in California charges more than the legally allowed $10 for a private party transfer (PPT).


Here's why and what can happen:
  • Violation of the law: California law sets the maximum dealer fee for a PPT at $10 per firearm, separate from the DROS fees. Charging more is a violation of state law.
  • Civil or criminal penalties: Firearms dealers who violate these laws may be subject to civil or criminal penalties. This could include fines, and potentially even revocation of their license, according to the California State of California - Department of Justice.
  • Restitution: The dealer may also be required to pay restitution to the parties that have been overcharged.

What to do if you're overcharged
  • Report it to the California Department of Justice (DOJ): You can contact the DOJ's Firearms Division at (916) 227-3703 or visit their website for guidance on reporting violations.
  • Consider contacting the FFL directly: It's sometimes possible that a mistake has been made and contacting the dealer directly may lead to a resolution. However, if they are unwilling to rectify the situation, then reporting it to the DOJ is recommended.
Important note
The $10 limit applies specifically to private party transfers where both the buyer and seller are present at the FFL. For other types of transfers (e.g., purchasing a firearm online and having it shipped to an FFL), the dealer can charge their own transfer fees, which are not regulated by the $10 limit.


 
Last edited:
Of all the fees listed (attached file), the FFL only gets to keep the $10 FSC test fee. If a FFL is charging extra fees, even at time of pick up, they are risking their license. Also, it is totally against the law for a FFL to misrepresent BOF or DOJ fees. If they charge a fee and say it's from the State, they are committing fraud.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2025-08-03 at 16-41-43 Department of Justice Fees - firearms-fees.pdf.png
    Screenshot 2025-08-03 at 16-41-43 Department of Justice Fees - firearms-fees.pdf.png
    46 KB · Views: 18
I've had only 1 FFL reiterate what is legal and illegal as far as fees goes in a similar way Bilknaar said it. Was very adamant. She was an older woman (possibly wife of owner) of The Firing Pin in El Monte. Very friendly and kind, and knowledgeable as far as fees and what is and isn't allowed by any CA FFL. They also have BBQs on Saturday (I think, I forgot.) where you can grab a bite to eat and a refreshments for thirst. I would visit there, but too far for me.
 
Please post the document where the $500 infraction is listed so people can print that out and bring it with them to places that charge extra fees for PPT's.

The linked memo does not specify an exact fee, nor does it appear any fines or fees charged are available publicly.

Is there a penalty if the FFL charges more than $10?

Yes, there can be penalties if an FFL in California charges more than the legally allowed $10 for a private party transfer (PPT).
Under Regulations prior to 2024, OAG could remove FFLs from the Centralized list of Fireams Dealers.
(a) If a dealer does not comply with corrective action requirements, or upon determination by the DOJ that a dealer has otherwise knowingly or with gross negligence violated firearms laws pursuant to Penal Code section 16575, including any applicable DOJ regulations, the DOJ may remove the dealer from the Centralized List.
As of 1/1/2024, CA PEN 26800 seems to cover these issues:

26800. ​

(a) A license under this chapter is subject to forfeiture for a violation of any of the prohibitions and requirements of this article, except those stated in the following provisions:

(1) Subdivision (c) of Section 26890.

(2) Subdivision (d) of Section 26890.

(3) Subdivision (b) of Section 26900.

(b) The department may assess a civil fine against a licensee, in an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), for any breach of a prohibition or requirement of this title, including any regulations promulgated to implement this title, Sections 21628.2, 21636, and 21640 of the Business and Professions Code, and any other applicable state law. The department may assess a civil fine, in an amount not to exceed three thousand dollars ($3,000), for a violation of a prohibition or requirement of this article that subjects the license to forfeiture under subdivision (a), for either of the following:

(1) The licensee has received written notification from the department regarding the violation and subsequently failed to take corrective action in a timely manner.

(2) The licensee is otherwise determined by the department to have knowingly or with gross negligence violated the prohibition or requirement.

Under this 2024 statute, the DOJ is preparing New Regulations to detail the types of offensives and the level of infraction and fine. Included in these is:

IMG_0828.jpeg
IMG_0829.jpeg

The regulations have not completed the approval process (the period for public comment closed on July 22, 2025). Regardless, the statute is still viable and enforceable and the OAG can assess fines and even remove FFLs from certification/licensure under its provisions.

The problem that faces us is this. If we turn a blind eye to these shenanigans, we wind up paying (sometimes) illegal and inflated premiums for PPT considerations. If we report these issues to OAG, they have the ability to shut down or otherwise damage the FFL, doing irreparable harm to the 2A community in CA. That’s why it’s important to try to resolve these issues collegially with the FFL without OAG interference.
 
Last edited:
I've done three PPTs this month. My first time not buying new from LGS. Every store charged something different and I still don't totally understand the limits of the extra add ons.

First store had an extra fee of $15
Second store charged an extra $25
The third store charged had no extras and charged me only the $47 and I literally told the lady she's missing a fee because it was so low compared to the first two.

The second for sure added the $25 as a gun storage fee. I remember seeing a gun storage fee sign by the register and I was standing there wondering why anyone would want their gun stored... before I figured out this was a ppt add on.

Since gun storage isn't for processing the paperwork I assume the LGS found a way around the $10 limit. I don't mind giving the LGS a little extra for the effort but ironically this shop had the fastest ppt time since he was electronic. The shop that didn't charge more was fully manual. As a buyer I was at the mercy of where the sellers wanted to meet. But now if a shop only charges the $10 and no extras I will be sure to spend a little money with the shop.

I don't think the extra fees are a name and shame situation. Given how much time is involved something like $25 is more reasonable than $10 to the LGS. I am just more willing to spend money with the $10 shop for being more gun owner friendly.
 
Last edited:
Found the receipt from the second shop. They are apparently confident the extra fees are allowed. They call it a Dealer ppt fee. The top of the invoice is marked lay away.
 
The CADOJ has made it clear to dealers they can not charge more than the $10 plus $37.19 background but dealers are able to charge storages fees after the waiting period has ended.

So in theory if your 10 days was up today at noon and its 5PM now I could charge what ever I want for the 5 hours of extra storage.
In the webinars for dealers CADOJ always recommends not charging any extra fees until at least the 11th day.

Any dealers charging extra at the start is clearly breaking the law.
 
The CADOJ has made it clear to dealers they can not charge more than the $10 plus $37.19 background but dealers are able to charge storages fees after the waiting period has ended.

So in theory if your 10 days was up today at noon and its 5PM now I could charge what ever I want for the 5 hours of extra storage.
In the webinars for dealers CADOJ always recommends not charging any extra fees until at least the 11th day.

Any dealers charging extra at the start is clearly breaking the law.
That's really interesting. Shops are clearly doing what they want. The pic shows the receipt clearly with the extra charge. They aren't even trying to hide that it is ppt related. My pickup date was yesterday. The shop is closed Sunday and Monday. I'll be going there Tuesday. I don't think I'm going to bring it up, but now I know it's worth asking about dealer fees in advance.
 

Attachments

  • 1000025061.webp
    1000025061.webp
    9.8 KB · Views: 34
This was for 2 hand guns. Let’s see some body top this. Blocked out the city to not put them directly on blast , think they’re the only FFL in that city lol
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3729.webp
    IMG_3729.webp
    11.7 KB · Views: 35
This was for 2 hand guns. Let’s see some body top this. Blocked out the city to not put them directly on blast , think they’re the only FFL in that city lol
LOL at multiple disposition paperwork fee.
 
If you read the thread from 2A. This is a legitimate charge for more complex scenario.
ATF require more stringent action when multiple semiautomatic weapons are purchased within 5 days.
I always forget about that because I am exempt.
 
The CADOJ has made it clear to dealers they can not charge more than the $10 plus $37.19 background but dealers are able to charge storages fees after the waiting period has ended.

So in theory if your 10 days was up today at noon and its 5PM now I could charge what ever I want for the 5 hours of extra storage.
In the webinars for dealers CADOJ always recommends not charging any extra fees until at least the 11th day.

Any dealers charging extra at the start is clearly breaking the law.
Seems to be zero enforcement
 
If you read the thread from 2A. This is a legitimate charge for more complex scenario. ATF require more stringent action when multiple semiautomatic weapons are purchased within 5 days.
Definitely not a "legitimate" charge. Every dealer in CA has to do these. Is it more work, yes but if you are not charging your customers who buy 2 handguns or 2 semi auto rifles how do you think its justified to charge that on a PPT.

Seems to be zero enforcement
Depends on how many people complain. CADOJ has said they do contact dealers when they receive complaints during the dealer training webinars.
 
Back
Top Bottom